Pere Antoine Restaurant


I realised I was too late leaving for dinner when my first two choices of restaurants had long queues. At the first one the waitress came out and said “If you’re waiting for the fried chicken I’m sorry to inform you we are sold out!” So I moved on. 

Not to worry though, I am sure that where ever you decide to eat in New Orleans you will eat well.

In the end I ended up at the Pere Antoine restaurant. It is another Cajun/Creole restaurant with a wide choice of dishes. It is located in Royal Street in the French Quarter. 

My choice for dinner fell on the New Orleans sampler. Both because I thought the portions would be smaller and I could manage to finish a three course meal. 

The first dish was a cup of chicken & sausage gumbo. The combination of spices and hours of cooking left the meat tender and gave a rich taste from the broth and spices. 

This was followed by shrimp creole, red beans and Jambalaya. Here is where the sampler size went out the window. I could unfortunately not do the three dishes any justice due to the size of the portions.

The shrimp creole was with sweet shrimp in a rich slightly spicy tomato sauce while the red beans was a moorish brown stew with beans and sausage. Both equally tasty. The Jambalaya was left to its own devices. Taste wise it could not compete with the other two dishes and I still had dessert to follow. 

The dessert was homemade bread pudding with rum sauce. Now, I am not normally a bread pudding fan, but I thought why not? It may be different in New Orleans from what I have been served in the UK. 

Boy was I right! Sweet, gooey with a caramel sauce to die for. It has definitely changed my mind about bread pudding.

Leave a comment